What Impact Will I Leave Behind?

I wake up in the morning and I prepare for work. When showering I hear some music from my neighbour’s house and I decide to join in and sing along. I then do the dishes while singing and as I leave the house, the care taker wishes me a nice day and reminds me to join them in the evening for fellowship.

I board a matatu and the conductor keeps asking where I am allighting. I get pissed, answer him “hospitali” and start wondering, “mbona wanataka kunitoa kwa matatu yao?” They start discussing my answer with the driver. I ignore them. He asks the woman infront of me about her destination and I decide not to pay attention. When allighting, the driver tells me, ” dada, usiwadunge sindano na nguvu.” I smile.

In the office I start my day well. After some work I decide to write a note in facebook about choices only to start reading the notes I had been tagged and one caught my eyes entitiled 100 truths. I read it and apparently I was to edit it and write my 100 truths. I wonder why I didnt do so since the draft has been there since 2009.

I read Kellen Sanau’s notes that she had tagged me and they make me laugh just remembering those high school moments. I then wonder where all these people are. Who can still say they keep in touch? How many got married or are engaged? Where did they all go to next? Do they still have friends they left high school with in their lives since apparently when we were in the land of opportunities we were told that when you leave the school you will leave with a permanent friend? Do we still uphold the values instilled in us? Some will say, “oh! it has been 7 years since we left high school, how do you expect us to still be tight?” Other will say, “we went to different campuses and we are now busy with other phases of life.” Whatever the reasons we have, i still think that it is a noble thing to get in touch with the friends we left kottet with.

I think of how passionate I have become with mentoring high school students and I wonder will I keep in touch after they are done with school? I think of my campus classmates and friends and I wonder the same thing. For some reason I think that it is obvious I won’t keep in touch with all since friends are for a season and a reason but then I remember Jesus calls us His friends. He keeps in touch with all of us. Will I remember my pledge 25 workmates? Will I remember my red cross friends? Will I remember my fellow Undugu Mentors? Will I remember my friends now 20 years down the line? Will I remember RBTC Msa staff? I pray that God gives me the strength to remember them all when that time comes.

A thought passes my mind, “why would I remember them?” Funny thing an answer comes, “coz they have left an impact in your life”. I then think of why people will remember me. Hard questions come into my mind. What impact have I left in those that we left kottet with for them to remember me? What impact have I left to my campus friends and classmates? 20 years down the line, what impact will I have left for those I call friends now to remember me? I pray that God will help me to leave an impact in someone’s life everyday.

As I conclude, I pray that as we (all who read this) walk through the path of life, may we keep impacting positively into the lives of those around us. Someone once said, “It is the little things we do in life that do matter.” What little thing will you do today?

2 thoughts on “What Impact Will I Leave Behind?

  1. You have been a great friend and a sister to me. The little things you have done to me and the sleepless night we have spent together comforting me in times of low spirits barikiwa sana sis Tina

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment